Lodging Tax Advisory Committee

Lodging tax, also referred to as the hotel-motel tax, is a consumer tax on lodging charges for periods of less than 30 consecutive days for hotels, motels, rooming houses, private campgrounds, RV parks, and similar facilities. The City collects this tax and uses it to fund activities that promote and increase tourism through a grant program.

The Lodging Tax Advisory Committee meets annually to review grant applications and makes recommendations to City Council for funding. The committee has five members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The committee must include at least two representatives of business that are required to collect the lodging tax, at least two people who are involved in activities that are authorized to be funded by this tax, and one elected city official who serves as the chairperson of the committee.


  • Sarah Arney
  • Rachel Ralson
  • Cristy Brubaker
  • Vacant 

Council Representative

  • Debora Nelson

More information on the Tourism / Economic Development Grant is available here.

Lodging Tax Grant Application