Civil Service Commission


  • 9 a.m.
  • The 1st Monday of each month (excluding holidays)
  • 110 E 3rd Street
    City Council Library (within the Arlington Police Station)
    Arlington, WA 98223


  • Kay Duskin, Commission Chair
  • Thad Hovis
  • Vacant

About the Commission

The Civil Service Commission is a voluntary board consisting of three citizens who serve six-year terms. The members of the commission are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council.

Members of the Civil Service Commission must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of the City of Arlington (inside City limits) for at least three years immediately preceding appointment, and a voter in Snohomish County. 

The Civil Service Commission executes the powers and performs the duties of the City of Arlington Civil Service Rules and Regulations in connection with the selection, appointment and employment of police officers, police department staff, firefighters and fire department staff.

Helpful Documents